17 May 2012 : The PET Scan

So today was the day of the PET scan. This scan is check for metastases of the cancer to the rest of the body.

I had worked myself into a panic attack last night , tying all the aches and pains I have ever experienced in the last 5 years to a possible metastasis symptom.   (I have always been a hypochondriac , so imagining aches and pains os not new to me)

Anyway after a terribly restless night I went to the clinic. The whole process takes a couple of hours. Its pretty painless and non invasive , so you just lie around trying not to move.

The big challenge was not to fidget, since the nerves , and lack of sleep were getting to me.

This is when I started thinking of my happy places. Sounds like a retarded escapist fantasy no? But that was what got me through… I am finding ways of staying clam and positive , otherwise

Writing this blog is surely helping. I feel more sorted after writing down a post, and more clear on what my emotions are. Though this blog is for me , I am thinking of sharing it my friends so they know what is happening and can keep in touch.

I have started revisiting my favorite blogs and discovering new ones too. They are not just pleasant reading, but raise issues(unrelated to cancer) that I feel strongly about. It feels good to feel strongly (although for a short bit)  about something that is not my cancer.

Talking to my friends about my treatments , and a lot of other things as well, is another thing I have realized makes me feel better. I have reached out to my friends and i get a lot of calls through the day. Its the best.  You know who you are. Thank you!

  1. #1 by Vineet on May 17, 2012 - 10:33 am

    When the going gets tough, the tough gets going! Beat it! We are waiting for you.

Leave a Reply

