24 May 2012 : What friends are for…

The only way I have managed to stay sane till now is thanks to all my lovely friends. I know I am not the best in keeping in touch, but they have just somehow managed to keep me going. Really. Even those who I haven’t told about the diagnosis , and are blissfully unaware.

When I tell them though , everyone has a different reaction though, here are some… Needless to say I love them all…! 🙂

Friend 1 : I don’t believe this. Its not possible. Are you sure there is no mistake. You should see another doc. This one is a quack. How can this happen? There must have been a mistake at the lab. Send me your report, no you should do an call with my doc, … its not possible… what shit…! how can you believe this quack.

Friend 2 : Its fine. Its nothing. Its like a cough or flu. You know you take some medication and get better. cough medication is not good for you, it makes you sleepy. Chemo is just like that….. you wont even know you are sick.

Friend 3 : <sobbing> OMG … what is going to happen now? oh man.. this is so bad… how did happen. its because you drink all this coke all the time… <sobbing some more> oh my god… what will happen now.

(and this after I told her that its curable… !!! Heaven knows what would have happened if I had called her when I was still uncertain. )

Friend 4 : <silence> ……. <more silence> ….. <silence that is getting awkward now> …. ok. Be positive. Stay strong.

Friend 5 : I know this and this oncologist who treated <so and so celebrities > … My fathers ke friend ka bhai ki chachi ka husband is so and so is an radiologist, you should talk to him.

Friend  6: Well, now that we know this is not life threatening… Its kinda cool …! you get to be a cancer survivor.

Friend 7 : Lets go skydiving next year… !

( ummmm .. I let them disfigure my boob, undergo toxic medication and go into menopause at 30 , for what? So I can  risk all that by jumping out of an airplane…. I think not…!!!)

P.S. : one of these is K. 🙂

And its amazing how almost everyone signs off with the same “practical” advice…  🙂

“Eat properly” , “Rest well”, “Don’t stress”, “Don’t strain “, “Eat properly”

 

  1. Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

